About the Department

About the Department

With the blessings of His Holiness Sri Jayendra Saraswathi Swamigal and His Holiness Sri Sankara Vijayendra Saraswathi Swamigal The Department of Physics was established in the year 1992, just after the college was founded, to offer B.Sc Physics Courses with affiliation to the University of Madras. From the year 2017 onwards offering M.Sc Physics with the intake of 26 seats.

The courses are designed to meet the current trend in the academic and employment opportunities.

The department has well equipped laboratory with sophisticated equipment to cater the needs of General and electronics practical course work of the under graduate and post graduate students.

Alumnae of the department are well placed in the diverse areas including research institutions, educational institutions, IT, banking sector and government offices.

At present, there are 7 teaching faculty and 1 non-teaching staff in the department. The Faculties of the department actively involved in the research and has carried out research in NLO and Crystal growth, Biomaterials, Magnetic materials, Spectroscopy, Nanomaterials synthesis and characterization for various applications.

The future plans of the department will be promoting as Research Department and getting funded projects.